Mapping Miami Startup Ecosystem

Yasmine Morrison
3 min readApr 3, 2023

When I first arrived in Miami in November 2020 from New York, I never would have guessed that I would still be here today. While I knew that Miami had a small but thriving startup scene, I never expected that it would grow so significantly over the past 2.5 years, catapulting the area into the top 10 metros in the US for venture capital. In 2022, the Miami-Fort Lauderdale metro area set a new record by logging $5.5 billion across 423 deals, while other major tech hubs saw decreases of up to 40% in deal activity. Miami now ranks 8th in the US for venture capital, and the growth shows no signs of slowing down.

But it’s not just the venture capital community that’s thriving in Miami. The city has also seen a surge in events, meetups, and companies supporting startups.

With all of this growth and with Miami Tech Month on the horizon, I’ve put together a map to help you navigate the VC funds, companies, and organizations that support the Miami tech ecosystem. It’s an exciting time to be part of Miami’s tech scene, and I can’t wait to see what the future holds.

  1. Angel Network

2. Accelerator/Incubator/Venture Studio

3. VC

4. Co-working Spaces

5. Conferences

6. Unicorns

I invest in B2B/B2C pre-seed startups. If you like this content, you can follow me on Twitter or connect with me on LinkedIn.

*Some of the VC funds mentioned are based outside of Miami in surroudning cities like Palm Beach, Boca Raton, and Fort Lauderdale.

--

--

Yasmine Morrison

Early-stage investor, global citizen, and ex-Harvard student/researcher. Sharing bite-sized VC content to help you secure funding.